Dawn

by Shopify

Release notes

Version 13.0.0 Jan 31, 2024

Free

A minimalist theme that lets product images take center stage.

Includes support for:

  • Mega menu
  • Sticky header
  • See all features here

Includes support for:

  • Mega menu
  • Sticky header
  • See all features here

Theme highlights

Chic and minimalist design

Let your products take center stage with large imagery, crisp lines, and simplified fonts that keep buyer attention focused on what matters.

Media-forward product page

Large media to help your customers see what products look like and get a sense of how they feel

Advanced customization options

Flexible design and customization settings to achieve your desired vision without having to touch any code.

This theme is great for

  • Quick setup: Theme setup steps are minimal to allow for quick launch
  • Visual storytelling: Designed to showcase images to support visual brand storytelling

Cart and checkout

  • Cart notes
  • In-store pickups
  • Quick buy

Marketing and conversion

  • Blogs
  • Cross-selling
  • FAQ page
  • Press coverage
  • Product reviews
  • Promo banners
  • Recommended products

Merchandising

  • High-resolution images
  • Image galleries
  • Image rollover
  • Image zoom
  • Ingredients or nutritional information
  • Lookbooks
  • Product options
  • Product videos
  • Shipping/delivery information
  • Size chart
  • Slideshow
  • Usage information

Product discovery

  • Enhanced search
  • Mega menu
  • Product filtering and sorting
  • Recommended products
  • Sticky header

This theme is great for

  • Quick setup: Theme setup steps are minimal to allow for quick launch
  • Visual storytelling: Designed to showcase images to support visual brand storytelling

Cart and checkout

  • Cart notes
  • In-store pickups
  • Quick buy

Marketing and conversion

  • Blogs
  • Cross-selling
  • FAQ page
  • Press coverage
  • Product reviews
  • Promo banners
  • Recommended products

Merchandising

  • High-resolution images
  • Image galleries
  • Image rollover
  • Image zoom
  • Ingredients or nutritional information
  • Lookbooks
  • Product options
  • Product videos
  • Shipping/delivery information
  • Size chart
  • Slideshow
  • Usage information

Product discovery

  • Enhanced search
  • Mega menu
  • Product filtering and sorting
  • Recommended products
  • Sticky header

167 reviews

31% positive

  • 52 positive reviews
  • 48 neutral reviews
  • 67 negative reviews
Write a review
YUNG'N'RICH 5 days ago

This app needs a lot of you too much glitches dose not work properly don't use

Reply from Shopify Nov 16, 2021

This is helpful feedback, we appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Our engineers are actively investigating and resolving any issues, and our Theme Support team may be able to apply these fixes to your theme. Please feel free to open a ticket with our support team to report your issue here: https://bit.ly/2AWw5VA

MDL Notebooks 14 days ago

My performance drops every day not matter what I do. I have tried apps, I have people look at too. and Now all my pictures are blurry. Please help I do not have the time to redo my website. And I have spoken to support they have not been able to help me.

Reply from Shopify 7 days ago

Hello, there are many aspects that can affect store performance. Having things that can slow down your site, such as videos, gifs, a large amount of apps, etc, can affect how customers with different quality connections view your store. You can learn more about improving your speed here (https://bit.ly/433RZO6). For the image issue, please contact our Support again so we can take a closer look.

Nue Age Feb 5, 2024

a lot of missing things , i tried to add a featured image , tha't only visivle for mobile , and i can't do thar , even when i tried to modify the code , it displays it on mobile and leaves an empty space in pc and tablets

Reply from Shopify 7 days ago

Hey, having a mobile only image for your homepage image banner is something that we advise against doing. This is due to keeping your website consistent - when a customer is used to viewing your mobile website searches for it on their desktop, they would be met with a homepage that is not the same and this may lead them to think it's a different website entirely. This can affect customer trust.

Skischule Ostrachtal Development Store Feb 2, 2024

Considering it being a base/starter theme from Shopify, it should have a well structured codebase to set a good example. Sadly it's not: There are a ton of JS files in the assets (which is fine) but then there is also a huge global.js, which is full of random stuff. Even class definitions are in there. Idk it feels just very hacky and badly written.

Reply from Shopify 7 days ago

Hello, thanks for sharing your feedback. With every iteration of our themes (from Vintage themes such as Debut to 2.0 themes such as Dawn,) we strive to improve our use of JavaScript. Liquid, being Shopify's template language built on Ruby and using other languages to provide dynamic web-pages and features, does utilize JavaScript in the global.js files in different ways than other platforms do.

This theme is supported by Shopify

About
  • 151 O’Connor St, Ottawa, ON, ON, CA

Release notes

Version 13.0.0 January 31, 2024

Dawn 13.0.0 adds support for color swatches, improvements to the country selector, and tweaks and fixes to other sections. It also includes a breaking change to Color Schemes; see the Changed notes below for details.

Added

  • The Variant Picker now supports color swatches! This depends on the Product Taxonomy feature, which is rolling out gradually over the coming weeks.
  • We reworked the country selector, which now includes search, a new “popular countries” section, and a generally improved look and feel especially on smaller screens.

Changed

  • Important: If you use Color Schemes, they will reset to their default values due to an internal change to the feature.
  • If you are using the Search & Discovery app, you can now change how dynamic facet lists treat filters with no product matches.

Fixes and improvements

  • We added a default font for input fields, they now inherit the body font instead of falling back to a system default font.
  • We fixed an issue when adding cart notes that would prevent them from showing during checkout.
  • We fixed an accessibility bug where filter colors were displaying incorrectly in high contrast mode.
  • We updated the Multicolumn Section to provide a slider on tablet-sized screens, like it does on phone-sized screens.
  • We fixed a bug where the Localization Selector was slightly obscured when using Sticky Header and scrolling while the selector was open.
  • We fixed a bug that prevented the Product Grid Section from using the correct Image Shape in its Product Cards.
  • We subtly increased the font size for inline quantity errors on product pages to make them more readable.

Version 12.0.0 October 31, 2023

Dawn 12.0.0 introduces additional customization options by adding color scheme pickers to new areas, and new ways to visually display product filters. It also introduces some performance improvements related to image loading.

Added

  • Important: If you use a gradient as a main background, the look of your cart drawer and product modal (quick add) will be affected.
  • You can now select a color scheme for the Image with text section, Collection template (Product grid section), Product information section, Cart drawer, and Cart page.

Changed

  • If you are using the Search & Discovery app, you can now change the logical operator for facet filter values between OR and AND.
  • If you are using the Search & Discovery app, you can now choose to apply a swatch visual style for certain filter types (references to metaobjects).

Fixes and improvements

  • We fixed an issue with facet filters that affected currencies that use comma separators.
  • We fixed a formatting issue with metadata that is used for SEO purposes.
  • We fixed a visual bug that was affecting the collage section.
  • We fixed an issue with the “compare at” price to ensure more predictable behavior.
  • We’ve improved the experience of adding items to cart on slower connections.
  • We fixed a styling issue affecting collections in empty cart drawers.
  • We fixed an issue in the Slideshow section where the next slide flashes before coming into view.
  • We’ve improved various visual elements on the Quick order list including font consistency, alignment, and spacing.
  • We fixed an issue affecting Quick order list on iOS, removing the need to double tap the info icon to open it.

Removed

  • Removed image tag attribute that indicated which images to load first. We will now allow the platform to determine this, which will improve performance.

Version 11.0.0 July 26, 2023

Dawn 11.0.0 introduces new customization options to the announcement bar, new animations and hover effects, and a Quick order list section to product pages.

Added

  • You can now add multiple Announcement bar sections to your Header.
  • You can now display social media icons in the Announcement bar.
  • You can now add the country/region selector and the language selector to the Announcement bar.
  • You can now set a different color scheme for your navigation menu than for your Header.
  • We added a new “Zoom in on scroll” animation option to the Image with text and Image banner sections.
  • We added a new “Vertical lift” hover effect option to cards and buttons.
  • You can now apply the outline button style to the button on Image with text.
  • You can now adjust the bottom padding on the Subtotal section in the cart.
  • We introduced a new Quick order list section to the product template. This allows you to optimize your product pages for bulk buying.
  • Customers who qualify for volume pricing will now see the different price breaks on your product pages.

Changed

  • We reduced the height of the Announcement bar section.
  • You can now choose to auto rotate the Announcement bar slides every 3 seconds. The minimum was previously 5 seconds.
  • Your mobile menu drawer will now appear full-width.
  • The Featured collection section will now display placeholder product images until a collection is selected.

Fixes and improvements

  • We fixed a bug where text links were not styled properly in the heading of the Related products section.
  • We made light stylistic improvements to link styles, alignment and spacing for both the dropdown and mega menu types in the Header.
  • We fixed a bug where the Footer would display extra white space when the “Show email signup” setting was left unchecked.

Build with confidence — the Theme Store promise

What’s included with every theme on the Theme Store

  • Works with the latest Shopify features

    Themes on the Shopify Theme Store are guaranteed to stay up to date and work with Shopify’s ever-growing feature set.

  • Speed-tested and approved

    Every theme in the Theme Store meets Shopify’s performance standards, ensuring a faster shopping experience for your buyers.

  • Unlimited free trial

    Try the theme for free with your own products, brand colors, and customizations.

  • Free high-resolution photos

    Demo stores aren’t included, but you can get free stock photos from Shopify Burst.

  • Free theme updates

    Get the latest theme features and fixes from the Theme Store. You can redownload your purchase at any time.