Refresh

by Shopify

Release notes

Version 13.0.0 Jan 31, 2024

Free

A bold theme that elevates product quality and brand storytelling.

Includes support for:

  • Mega menu
  • Sticky header
  • See all features here

Includes support for:

  • Mega menu
  • Sticky header
  • See all features here

Theme highlights

Clean and modern design

Make a bold brand statement with assertive headings and a minimalist color palette that puts the focus on your products.

Emphasize product details

Share testimonials, ingredient, quality information, special certifications, and more with adaptive section layouts.

Advanced customization options

Flexible design and customization settings that allow you to update your experience to match your brand vision.

This theme is great for

  • Editorial content: Optimized for longer-form text sections to support brand storytelling
  • Quick setup: Theme setup steps are minimal to allow for quick launch
  • Visual storytelling: Designed to showcase images to support visual brand storytelling

Cart and checkout

  • Cart notes
  • In-store pickups
  • Quick buy
  • Slide-out cart

Marketing and conversion

  • Blogs
  • Cross-selling
  • FAQ page
  • Product reviews
  • Promo banners
  • Recommended products

Merchandising

  • High-resolution images
  • Image galleries
  • Image rollover
  • Image zoom
  • Ingredients or nutritional information
  • Lookbooks
  • Product videos
  • Shipping/delivery information
  • Size chart
  • Slideshow
  • Usage information

Product discovery

  • Enhanced search
  • Mega menu
  • Product filtering and sorting
  • Recommended products
  • Sticky header

This theme is great for

  • Editorial content: Optimized for longer-form text sections to support brand storytelling
  • Quick setup: Theme setup steps are minimal to allow for quick launch
  • Visual storytelling: Designed to showcase images to support visual brand storytelling

Cart and checkout

  • Cart notes
  • In-store pickups
  • Quick buy
  • Slide-out cart

Marketing and conversion

  • Blogs
  • Cross-selling
  • FAQ page
  • Product reviews
  • Promo banners
  • Recommended products

Merchandising

  • High-resolution images
  • Image galleries
  • Image rollover
  • Image zoom
  • Ingredients or nutritional information
  • Lookbooks
  • Product videos
  • Shipping/delivery information
  • Size chart
  • Slideshow
  • Usage information

Product discovery

  • Enhanced search
  • Mega menu
  • Product filtering and sorting
  • Recommended products
  • Sticky header

22 reviews

23% positive

  • 5 positive reviews
  • 8 neutral reviews
  • 9 negative reviews
Write a review
Jane Harbison Design Dec 28, 2023

I find this theme easy to use and modify. I haven’t had any problems with adding apps to it or it displaying how I anticipated it to.

Reply from Shopify Jan 18, 2024

Hey there, glad to hear that Refresh is working well for you and your business! It's our aim to have apps from the Shopify App store connect seamlessly to give more control over the features you have on your website.

MedFare Dec 20, 2023

My pages are not displaying the nesting menu - instead it had the page header and that is all. My pricing app integration is not working.

Reply from Shopify Jan 18, 2024

Hi, sometimes app integrations with themes can cause some hiccups! Please reach out to our Support (https://bit.ly/2AWw5VA) so that we can look into your header and pricing app. We will see if these are issues we can resolve with settings or if they need to be looked into further.

The Muffpot® Dec 4, 2023

Unable to display product price

Reply from Shopify Dec 8, 2023

Hello, please make sure to reach out to our Support (https://bit.ly/2AWw5VA) so that we can take a closer look at this. There are several different possibilities when the product price is not displaying correctly, some are due to theme editor settings and others are due to possible app or custom code interference.

EndoGear Nov 28, 2023

I've recently encountered a significant issue while using this theme. Each time a new item is added to the cart, the cart unexpectedly resets. This has been a consistent problem, and it significantly disrupts the shopping experience. There doesn't seem to be an "Add to Cart" option in the theme, only the "Buy Now". This issue could potentially lead to a loss of sales.

Reply from Shopify Dec 8, 2023

Hey there, we definitely recommend reaching out to our Support (https://bit.ly/2AWw5VA) so that we can take a closer look at what is causing this. It's possible that an app's injected scripts or custom code inserted into the theme files could be affecting how the buttons are loading as well as some pages. We would be happy to help investigate further.

This theme is supported by Shopify

About
  • 151 O’Connor St, Ottawa, ON, ON, CA

Release notes

Version 13.0.0 January 31, 2024

Refresh 13.0.0 adds support for color swatches, improvements to the country selector, and tweaks and fixes to other sections. It also includes a breaking change to Color Schemes; see the Changed notes below for details.

Added

  • The Variant Picker now supports color swatches! This depends on the Product Taxonomy feature, which is rolling out gradually over the coming weeks.
  • We reworked the country selector, which now includes search, a new “popular countries” section, and a generally improved look and feel especially on smaller screens.

Changed

  • Important: If you use Color Schemes, they will reset to their default values due to an internal change to the feature.
  • If you are using the Search & Discovery app, you can now change how dynamic facet lists treat filters with no product matches.

Fixes and improvements

  • We added a default font for input fields, they now inherit the body font instead of falling back to a system default font.
  • We fixed an issue when adding cart notes that would prevent them from showing during checkout.
  • We fixed an accessibility bug where filter colors were displaying incorrectly in high contrast mode.
  • We updated the Multicolumn Section to provide a slider on tablet-sized screens, like it does on phone-sized screens.
  • We fixed a bug where the Localization Selector was slightly obscured when using Sticky Header and scrolling while the selector was open.
  • We fixed a bug that prevented the Product Grid Section from using the correct Image Shape in its Product Cards.
  • We subtly increased the font size for inline quantity errors on product pages to make them more readable.

Version 12.0.0 October 31, 2023

Refresh 12.0.0 introduces additional customization options by adding color scheme pickers to new areas, and new ways to visually display product filters. It also introduces some performance improvements related to image loading.

Added

  • Important: If you use a gradient as a main background, the look of your cart drawer and product modal (quick add) will be affected.
  • You can now select a color scheme for the Image with text section, Collection template (Product grid section), Product information section, Cart drawer, and Cart page.

Changed

  • If you are using the Search & Discovery app, you can now change the logical operator for facet filter values between OR and AND.
  • If you are using the Search & Discovery app, you can now choose to apply a swatch visual style for certain filter types (references to metaobjects).

Fixes and improvements

  • We fixed an issue with facet filters that affected currencies that use comma separators.
  • We fixed a formatting issue with metadata that is used for SEO purposes.
  • We fixed a visual bug that was affecting the collage section.
  • We fixed an issue with the “compare at” price to ensure more predictable behavior.
  • We’ve improved the experience of adding items to cart on slower connections.
  • We fixed a styling issue affecting collections in empty cart drawers.
  • We fixed an issue in the Slideshow section where the next slide flashes before coming into view.
  • We’ve improved various visual elements on the Quick order list including font consistency, alignment, and spacing.
  • We fixed an issue affecting Quick order list on iOS, removing the need to double tap the info icon to open it.

Removed

  • Removed image tag attribute that indicated which images to load first. We will now allow the platform to determine this, which will improve performance.

Version 11.0.0 July 26, 2023

Refresh 11.0.0 introduces new customization options to the announcement bar, new animations and hover effects, and a Quick order list section to product pages.

Added

  • You can now add multiple Announcement bar sections to your Header.
  • You can now display social media icons in the Announcement bar.
  • You can now add the country/region selector and the language selector to the Announcement bar.
  • You can now set a different color scheme for your navigation menu than for your Header.
  • We added a new “Zoom in on scroll” animation option to the Image with text and Image banner sections.
  • We added a new “Vertical lift” hover effect option to cards and buttons.
  • You can now apply the outline button style to the button on Image with text.
  • You can now adjust the bottom padding on the Subtotal section in the cart.
  • We introduced a new Quick order list section to the product template. This allows you to optimize your product pages for bulk buying.
  • Customers who qualify for volume pricing will now see the different price breaks on your product pages.

Changed

  • We reduced the height of the Announcement bar section.
  • You can now choose to auto rotate the Announcement bar slides every 3 seconds. The minimum was previously 5 seconds.
  • Your mobile menu drawer will now appear full-width.
  • The Featured collection section will now display placeholder product images until a collection is selected.

Fixes and improvements

  • We fixed a bug where text links were not styled properly in the heading of the Related products section.
  • We made light stylistic improvements to link styles, alignment and spacing for both the dropdown and mega menu types in the Header.
  • We fixed a bug where the Footer would display extra white space when the “Show email signup” setting was left unchecked.

Build with confidence — the Theme Store promise

What’s included with every theme on the Theme Store

  • Works with the latest Shopify features

    Themes on the Shopify Theme Store are guaranteed to stay up to date and work with Shopify’s ever-growing feature set.

  • Speed-tested and approved

    Every theme in the Theme Store meets Shopify’s performance standards, ensuring a faster shopping experience for your buyers.

  • Unlimited free trial

    Try the theme for free with your own products, brand colors, and customizations.

  • Free high-resolution photos

    Demo stores aren’t included, but you can get free stock photos from Shopify Burst.

  • Free theme updates

    Get the latest theme features and fixes from the Theme Store. You can redownload your purchase at any time.